Hail to the Hadass

In between election polls, I sat wondering what to do with all of the lulavim I gathered this year.  I always put a box out asking for etrogim to make etrog liqueur (recipe soon to come), but people always leaf their whole lulav.  Now normally, the hadassim go straight to my spice jar, but I have been aching to find a way to introduce them to cocktails.  I started using it as a floral garnish on some martinis, but since this was used for a mitzvah, I wanted to give the hadass more respect rather than have it tossed aside as an inedible garnish.

Then it hit me, BITTERS.  Hadassim Bitters!

I have no clue if this will work, also, I may have never made bitters before.  I saved up a bunch of hadassim so I hope to make several different batches.  here is recipe number one

Batch #1

1.25 cups of bourbon: I used rebel yell

2 tbsp of hadassim: lightly toasted

1/2 tbsp of etrog zest: or lemon zest

1/2 tbsp of orange zest: Naval orange preferred

1 cinnamon stick: toasted

4 cloves: toasted

4 cardamon pods

3 star anise pods: toasted

1/2 tsp of nutmeg: i used ground nutmeg, next time I might toast whole nutmeg and then grate it in

Let all your toasted items cool.  Place it all into a 16 oz mason jar.  Shake and store in a cool dark area.  Will let you know how it tastes in a week.

Leave a Reply

